This being my 411th blog page and the last as I am standing done as a Carlisle City Councillor after 16 years.   I have enjoyed each week to write up an aide memoire and also to realise the work carried out by City Councillors that may influence future planning for the City.

30th   My last City Council meeting  at which I had, together with other retiring colleagues, a vote of thanks for the work that we have been involved with for over a period of time.   Not only from the leader of my own group but also from the Leader of the City Council.   The meeting commenced at 6.45 p.m. with prayers given by the City Chaplain,  Rev Keith Teasdale, followed by the roll call of Councillors present.   The minutes of the previous Council meeting were approved and questions asked of the Leader regarding the last two meetings of the Executive.   The Portfolio Holders gave their reports and answered questions followed by the Chairmen of the three Overview & Scrutiny panels.   Minutes of other Committees and panels were approved before the Mayor of the City, Councillor Jessica Riddle, closed the meeting and invited all present to a buffet supper.

1st May   I had a visit to my local doctor regarding a rash that has appeared on my face and he has referred me to a Dermatologist in Newcastle.

2nd   Election Day  with new boundaries for each ward with each of the new Wards having three Councillors.   There being a reduction of Wards to 13 and thus 39 Councillors.   At 11 a.m. I was a teller recording the people who had turned out to vote at The Church of the Nazarene in Moorhouse Road, Carlisle.   Due to the complexity of the new wards and the number of candidates the Count will be at The Sands, Carlisle tomorrow from 9,30 a.m.

3rd   I was present at the Count having been asked to be a Counting Agent to make sure there were no mistakes made by the Counting Clerks.   Due to the complexity of the Count it took until 3.30 p.m. before the results were declared, there having been two re-counts being conducted. The results appear to have been influenced by the actions of Central Government and their inability to settle the Brexit issue.   The results being no overall control with  17 Conservatives, 15 Labour, 4 Independents, 1 Liberal Democrat, 1 Green and 1 Ukip.   It will be interesting to see how the administration of the City Council will work in the future.   Although I have stood down as a City Councillor in my 85th year, I intend to continue as a Parish Councillor for Scotby Ward of Wetheral Parish Council  now in my 44th year.  I will also remain as a School Governor at Scotby Junior School, a member of Scotby  Village Hall committee and member of both Wetheral and Scotby Playing Field Committees.   So to all my blog readers goodbye and thank you for reading my input.